Cheetahs Announce Squad For Semi-finals

(Photo Credit: Jorina Raath/

The Cheetahs made four changes to their starting line-up that will face the Sharks in the one semi-final of the 2019 Currie Cup competition. The Toyota Free State Cheetahs secured a home semi-final by finishing first on the log.

Up Front Ox Nché, who played off the bench last week, moves into the starting front row in place of Schalk Van Der Merwe while Erich de Jager replaces Abram Venter in the other change to the front row.

In the backline William Small-Smith moves from inside centre to right wing, in place of Darren Adonis – with Dries Swanepoel returning at inside centre.

The Cheetahs secured a home semifinal by finishing first on the log.

Players not available through injury include Teboho Mohoje (knee), Aidon Davis (leg fracture), Justin Basson (knee), Ali Mgijima (Achilles), Luan de Bruin (neck), Malcolm Jaer (groin), Daniel Maartens (ankle), Marnus van der Merwe (foot), Adriaan Carelse (hand) and Charles Marais (knee).

Free State Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 William Small-Smith, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Dries Swanepoel, 11 Tian Meyer (captain), 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Abongile Nonkontwana, 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Manjesi, 3 Erich de Jager, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nché.
Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Schalk van der Merwe, 18 Reinach Venter, 19 Jean-Pierre du Preez, 20 Gerhard Olivier, 21 Jasper Wiese, 22 Louis Fouche, 22 Darren Adonis.